bee balm soil prep

Lake Toxaway, NC(Zone 7a)

I have the wild red bee balm but not a lot of it. There are a few plants here and there and I would like to group them to get more of a showing. I usually prepare my soil with Black Kow and bone meal and start fertilizaton later. But I'm not sure that is the same path I should pursue with the bee balm. Advice, please?

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

I amended with compost and manure when I transplanted it. It pouted a little the first year (probably because I moved it later in the spring) and then took off the second. Hope this helps.

Portland, TN(Zone 7a)

I have some type that my mom bought at bluestone. They are not wild but they grow like it at my house. I don't do anything special with my soil. I am new to gardening and wouldn't know what to do with it. I just dug a whole a put them it. My are growing like a wild fire!!! I planted them last year adn I have them all over the place. I believe I saw a dead dandelion in their path (never seen a dandelion chocked out:) LOL I bet I have given away about 50-75 plants. I am fixing to take some more out today. I have a few more to give away. If you want some of these let me know. I have to get them out this weekend I can't think of anymore people to give them to. I think they are a redish color if I remember correctly but I can't be for sure as it was their first year and they didn't bloom much.

Your soil must be perfect for them. If you can't unload the extras on neighbors, just post in the plant trading forum. I'm sure you'll get some nice plants in return or they will pay postage.
dahlianut: I went ahead and dug the area out and then mixed in the Black Kow. My soil is low in phosphate so I am adding super phosphate. I will transplant today. Thanks for the help.

Seabrook, SC(Zone 8b)

My experience is the same as lars1angel. I do nothing for the bee balm and it spreads like crazy. I have the cultivar "Jacob Kline."