Need help identifying pest or disease in chrysanthemums

Bendigo, Australia

Can anyone tell me what is doing this to my chrysanthemums? This leaf is from one variety of chrysanthemums but no other varieties outside this one has this problem. Is this caused by a pest that can be treated or is it a disease that needs to be burnt in order to be rid of? All my chrysanthemums come from cuttings from the previous years plants. I appreciate any feedback...Thanks in advance, Cheers

Thumbnail by chrysies
Barmera, Australia

This looks like "Black Spot" but there are different causal agents for different plants. The best course here would be to see if you can track down "Black Spot" on Chrysanthemums either here on DG or surfing elsewhere. Sorry I can't be of more help.
Brian

Merino, Australia

Hello chrysies. I am no expert on chrysanthemums either but have had them for many years.
I would take any affected plants and immediately cut them back to the ground. Isolate them and see if any new growth is affected . I would spray all the others with a good systemic spray in case you have mites and I have found that a spray of powdered milk and water will help any black spot, mildew or other fungal problems.
Do you grow the plants in the open ?
I keep mine in pots in full sun . They like lots of air around , so don't have them close together.
I have found that using a stake early and tying to this as they grow, keeps them upright and clear of each other. Chryssies do have a tendency to flop all over the place if left.
I tip prune mine during the year from when they are about 8" tall
They like to be fed and I use a good fertiliser such as Thrive alternated with Seasol and once every 3 - 4 weeks, a feed of either The Recipe ( from the brug forum ) or a mix of brown sugar and water
If you grow yours in the ground, it may help to keep the bottom 6" of the stalks free from leaves to encourage good air flow.
Jean.

Bendigo, Australia