weak stems?

Cincinnati, OH

I am fairly new to iris collecting. Recently I bought "Fancy Tales" and the description said it had weak stems. Knowing in advance will allow me to take appropriate measures. Then I bought "Santa" which looks like it might be related (and hybridizer is same). Does anyone know if these might need staking also? It is nice to know that I am not the only one with some iris that were purchased and tagged as one kind and then bloomed something altogether different. So far I only have about 200 different iris, but they are addictive.

Lebanon, OR

Howdy

Fancy Tales tho a very beautiful iris is a very weak grower and very slow to increase, add to that the fact that it is prone to rot. Do I grow it, yes, because I want the pollen. Is it worth the trouble depends on how much you love it. Stake it very early on.

Santa has never been a weak grower here, and even tho by the same hybridizer does not carry the same genes.

Hope this helps you and enjoy both of them as both are beautiful

D

Cincinnati, OH

Thank you for the information! I had a problem with rot until I raised all my beds and ordered a custom sandy soil mix. I will watch that one carefully for sure. The color pattern of Fancy Tales intriques me and yeah I think it will be worth the extra effort. Nice to know I don't have to worry about Santa.

When I first got "Oyez" I was shocked at the little bity rhizomes. I pampered and protected (and prayed over) it. Then it bloomed and I got the most incredible photo! I absolutely love it. It is hard to imagine that such a masterpiece could erupt from such an unlikely source.

Lebanon, OR

Aril/Arilbred are always small rhizomes and shipped dormant. You have to know that in advance as you are shocked by what you receive. I know the first I received one I was more than shocked but I knew they came from Iraq, Iran and the middle east so knew they had to such a difference in growing and all. Planted and it bloomed well the following year.

D