Stacker pots, pole system and part pictures.

Peachtree City, GA(Zone 7b)

This is my first time doing this. I was a little harder than I thought. But solid as a rock when its done.
There are probably others who have tried many ways and now use the best way.

This is what I did...

I was going to use the conduit pipe in the electrical aisle, but the outside of the pipe diameter was 1".
The opening in the stackers are 1 5/16ths.
I thought that the 1" might be too thin.

An ouside diameter of 1 1/4 would be perfect to use!

So I went to the Fence post aisle.
I bought a pipe the exact diameter of the opening.

Image is of my first struggle. There is a slight ridge left in the plastic from when they made the hole.
I put the pipe into 1 stacker and banged it on the ground so the pipe would clean out the hole.
Repeat with each stacker level.

This message was edited Apr 10, 2009 4:21 PM

Thumbnail by chris_lcf530

These are the parts that I bought at home Depot.

10' 6" galvanized fence rail. 1 5/16ths in diameter. $8.97
rail end cap - $1.39 You dont need this. The pipe is galvanized. I just wanted it.
pole clamp - $1.94 (I dont know what these are really called.)

If you can find a pipe with the ouside diameter of 1 1/4" would be perfect to use!

This message was edited Apr 10, 2009 4:22 PM

Next step is to cut the pipe.
I cut mine at 7' long. If you have loose soil, you may want it longer so you can put it into the ground deeper.
My thought was 18" in ground.
18" under the bottom pot.
and 4' for the 6 levels of stackers.
On my next ones, I will cut it a few inches longer to the rail cap sticks out the top more.

Markings on pipe at 18", then at 17" because the clamp is the final 1".

This message was edited Apr 10, 2009 1:26 PM

attach clamp on and tighten.

You would put the pipe in the ground now.

I didnt, because I wanted to see the whole thing come together.