Moving my irises help!!!!!

Piedmont, SC(Zone 7b)

I have three colors of iris and I want to move them tomorrow. I only have one that has a bloom. Can I move them now? I really need to move them. They are in way to much shade. I read the thread about the coffee grounds. Do you mix the grounds into the soil?

North Shore of L. I., NY(Zone 6b)

I see that many people did see your thread including myself. But since I am new to iris, I had no advice. You also do not say what type of iris, which would be helpful to know.

Nilwood, IL(Zone 5b)

You can move Iris anytime. Moving them now may set blooms back but I have some more to move out of shade this yr too. BEV I have even moved when they are blooming.

Thumbnail by dragonfly62
Hannibal, NY(Zone 6a)

I move mine anytime, also. Even when in bloom if I see a color combo I like. If they are not going to bloom anyway, move them out to a sunnier area as soon you can do it.

Los Alamos, NM(Zone 5a)

You can mix coffee grounds in with the soil, but it will make it more acidic. If your soil is already acidic, you might want to put the grounds on something that loves acid soil like beardless iris, hydrangea, azalea, etc. etc.

Raleigh, NC

sorry not to respond sooner, but I was off DG due to illness when you posted. since the 10th, been partying! birthday and Easter all weekend!right.

Bearded irises like soil neutral to a bit on the base side of things. Coffee grounds are indeed acidic, but not harshly so. beardless irises would love them.

If you do put grounds out for any irises, don't put them on the irises themselves. and I personally just barely scratch them into the surface. don't know if it really works, but I've always thought it helped deter weeds....

what I try to remember moving irises now:

1. they are putting out tons of energy right now to bloom, and in fast growth. so they will need some bone meal in their new bed or hole. not too much, it can be toxic.