Canna planting question??

San Bernardino, CA(Zone 8b)

Hi :-)

I purchased (picture below) these Canna Picasso rhizomes on Ebay. When you purchase them like that, is this what they are supposed to look like, all dried up?? I've only ever bought them in pots previously. If they look viable to you experts, do I just stick them in the ground like that, or soak them in water and Superthrive, or??

Any help will be most appreciated!!

Thumbnail by amarantha00
Parkersburg, WV

amarantha00,

Hi I am not an expert but have raised cannas for several years. In colder zones we have to dig up cannas and store over winter months and they dry out and look just like that. As long as the rhizomes are firm and not mushy , or just dried out husks, they should be fine.

As for soaking them in water I would not do that , superthrive I have no experince with, I do how ever when recieving roots,rhizomes through the mail I soak for a few minutes in a 1 part bleach solution for a few minutes them rinse with clean water, and allow to air dry. Before planting, just kills off alot of things that might be traveling along on them that you would not want in your garden.

Hopes this helps
Tim J

Thanks for your reply, Tim! Great, that's exactly what I will do :-)

Bend, OR(Zone 5a)

I bought Canna Picasso too.. Good to know what to do.

Ginger

Wesley Chapel, FL(Zone 9a)

As long as they're not rotten, they're probably viable, though I find that dried rhizomes don't produce as well as fresh ones.

I let them sit in Superthrive for a while, to wake them up, and give them a bit of a head start. It probably doesn't really matter, although my Florida gardening friends rave about Superthrive.

Steve

Vicksburg, MS(Zone 8a)