Heirloom Iris from 1930's-Peacock's Eye

Fresno, CA(Zone 10b)

I have posted some images of my absolute favorite plant, my Peacock's Eye Iris...I was on a two year waiting list to get one rhizome of this little beauty...please visit my blog/journal (I'm still a newbie so not sure how this works)
http://davesgarden.com/tools/blog/index.php?tabid=11636

Thumbnail by corgilover51
Fresno, CA(Zone 10b)

One more picture to temp you to my brag page...lol....

Houghton Lake, MI(Zone 4b)

Oh, how cute! I clicked on the link to your blog but it said access denied.

Fresno, CA(Zone 10b)

Oh darn, I wonder why? Oh well just a good reason to post another shot...lol... I'm like a proud Mom when it comes to this little darling....this is another angle of the bloom in the first post....they only last a single day but you get 3-5 on each stalk, so it's like daily presents....

Salem, IL(Zone 5b)

You have a prized iris. Listed as 'Peacock's Eye' TB (Katkamier 1939). It is not yet
listed in the photo section of HIPS but there is an excellent photo from a Delaware Valley
Iris Society pose. Probably one of their judging conventions???

If I may give some unsolicited advice, take it out of the pot and plant it in a dry sunny
spot. I am currently running a simple experiment with potted iris and it is evident to me
that potted cannot compete with garden planted. Much like the potted flowering bulbs
in some of the big box garden centers, they look anemic and just not as healthy as the
normally planted ones.

Fresno, CA(Zone 10b)