Clematis beginner needs advice

Marianna, FL(Zone 8b)

I'm a novice as far as growing clems, although I planted several last year that are putting out new growth. I just purchased a box of 5 "The President" from Sam's Club for about $13. Should I put these directly in the ground, or is it better to start them in a pot until they sprout? Since these are Size No. 1, is it okay to plant more than one in the same hole? Also, would this variety be appropriate to grow in a large pot with a trellis?

I've thoroughly enjoyed reading your threads and admiring your photos of your beautiful clematis.

Hammond, LA(Zone 8b)

There are alot more experienced Clematis fans here than I. Here is whatI usually do:

Buy clem. If it is a few years old, or already very well established, I put it outside.

If not (from a box store) I pot it up and put it in a window for the first year. I keep the vine trimmed back to get the roots going. Make sure when you water you do not get the vine wet, just the soil. You may want to bury the root/plant system a few inches deep so that if there is any breakage, you still have some of the vine under the soil. The next year, I plant the clem, usually in February or so. Being in 8b (as I am) this is a good time.

I did this with a Ms. Bateman last year. They were put into a contianer in February this year, with a trellis.

On the other hand, my first year gardening, I bought a Niobe from WalMart and dropped it directly into the soil next to my house. No amendments, nothing. Here is it it's 3rd year.

This message was edited Mar 26, 2009 6:10 PM

Thumbnail by jlp222
Marianna, FL(Zone 8b)

That is a beautiful vine! Although these Presidents are young, they seem to have a very good root system. When this awful weather passes through in a couple of days, I may just put them directly in the ground. At least the ground will be softer.
Thank you for sharing.

Hammond, LA(Zone 8b)