how much sun is too much?

Huntington, WV(Zone 6a)

I am putting in a new foundation planting at my house. this side of the house faces southwest, but is partially shaded by two huge pin oaks (nasty trees). It is on a slope, so drainage is not a true issue. I am wondering about any hydrangeas that may take a bit more sun than others. I have several hydrangeas at other shadier places in the yard and they do wonderfully. Thanks in advance for any assist you can give.

by the way I am in zone 6

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I think that H. arborescens and H. paniculata can take a little more sun than H. macrophylla can.

Atawhai,Nelson, New Zealand(Zone 10a)

I am new to Hydrangeas and would also like to know how much sun they can handle. The position I have in mind is in full afternoon sun. Would the macrophylla cope with this?

Mike

Huntington, WV(Zone 6a)

I have further researched it and am going to go with oakleaf hydrangeas. I am looking at western exposure with mixed sun and they seem to do the best in that situation. I do not think the macros can take that much sun.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Mike--H. macrophylla can't take that much sun even in a climate with cool summers. I'm assuming that your summers can be rather warm so I don't think there are any hydrangea species that would be happy with full afternoon sun. Even if you could manage to keep them from totally dying, you'd have to water them almost constantly and I don't think they'd ever look good, so I would consider some other options. Plenty of full sun shrubs ought to be perfectly happy in a location like that.

Atawhai,Nelson, New Zealand(Zone 10a)

Thanks for the advice. Just saved me some money!

Mike

Edwardsville, IL(Zone 6a)

What about Limelight and sun?

Long Branch, NJ(Zone 7a)