Cow or Horse Manure???

Wesley Chapel, FL(Zone 9a)

I have access to both. Anybody know which one is preferable for a garden? How come?

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

I think cow smells worse, but I'm no pro, I have only used horse/ rabbit/ llama

Sally - after I posted, I did some reading on it. Turns out that rabbit manure has way more nutrients than horse or cow, and you can put it in the garden fresh - no waiting for composting. That's the way I'm going this year.

Thanks for responding.

You're welcome and thanks back. Now I just need to find rabbits.

Indianapolis, IN(Zone 4b)

Search eBay for "worm castings rabbit manure" and you'll find some good stuff. I bought about 20 pounds of it a year ago to help start my very first batch of compost, and it was quite cheap. Under ten bucks, if memory serves.

Of course, it's not what I'd call a steady source. Craig's List might have some sources near you, perhaps even free for the haulin'.

I do need to check Craigs once in a while. Have never taken advantage of it.

Google 'rabbitries' and the name of your town. It will show you rabbit growers in your area. I emailed a few of them, asking if they would sell me manure. I would think that at least some of them would be glad to be rid of the stuff.

NORTH CENTRAL, PA(Zone 5a)

I've used all kinds of poopers but horse manure is my most available. In our community some horse people will even load it to your truck or trailer. I never argue the small differences for in gardening any manure is a great plus on the fall garden and your compost piles.

When it comes to foul poopers I will sometimes get just a five gallon bucket full from a pigeon raising friend that has only four birds. A little of this goes a long way.

Craigslist has severeal listings of free horse manure in my area (Tampa), some of it well composted.