Favorite container annuals for the NE

Buffalo, NY(Zone 6a)

I'm thinking about hanging some containers from the railing on our front porch & putting some trailing annuals in them. So I was wondering what your favorite annuals for containers in the northeast are. I have very little experience in this area, but from what I understand most annuals are pretty easy germinators, even without cold stratification, so I'm thinking of getting some seeds & "winter-sowing" them, even though spring's just a month away.

Oh, and pics are a plus if you have any. :)

North Augusta, ON

Million Bells put on a fabulous show in a hanging basket!

Buffalo, NY(Zone 6a)

Looks like a really attractive plant!

http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/69743/

The only thing is, it apparently can't be propagated from seed, so it would be annoying to have to buy them as plants again every year. I guess they can be propagated from cuttings, but then I'd have to bring them inside for the winter, get some lights to put them under, & generally get really serious about it. :)

North Augusta, ON

Most garden centres sell them cheap in the Spring. Unless you're looking for dozens of them it's just as easy to buy what you need.

Buffalo, NY(Zone 6a)

OK, I'll definitely look into that then!

central, NJ(Zone 6b)

Yes I agree about million bells. This is million bells and petunias

Thumbnail by flowAjen
central, NJ(Zone 6b)

Begonias are good for shade containers

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

Million Bells are great for taking the heat and providing continual bloom. In containers I use many things. Coleus, caladium, torenia, lobelia, impatiens - all types, begonia, geranium, salvia, verbena, nemesia, bacopa, abutilon, nicotiana - to name a few!

Denville, NJ(Zone 6b)

trailing and upright coleus, torenia, petunias, mimulus, trailing lobelia, impatiens, violina and that top container begonia

Thumbnail by onewish1
Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

Well if you're gonna show off, Allison...^_^