If Only One Plant...

Putnam County, IN(Zone 5b)

to attract both Butterflies AND Hummers what would you pick? I am trying to find the biggest bang for my bucks so to speak...and my bucks are very limited!! lol

Liberty Hill, TX(Zone 8a)

Yellow Butterfly Bush, but I'm not sure how it would do in your zone.

Lee's Summit, MO(Zone 6a)

No doubt about it - the number one plant for both butterflies and hummingbirds (in my yard) is the Buddlea aka butterfly bush. The second one I have found to be Lantana.

Marlton, NJ

In my yard the Butterflies are the only ones that love Lantana; I've tried it 2 years in a row now. I'm glad it's working well for you Kay.

Do Butterflies like Monarda? My Hummers went crazy for that.

Fayetteville, GA(Zone 7b)

nanny, i have some white butterfly bush seed i got from my plant in my (soon to be re-energized) bfly garden...I am very new at this seed gathering stuff...but I will be more than happy to send u some of the seeds for u too try and see if th ey will grow for you.

modellasmom@gmail.com
send me you address/email and i' ll mail them out to you tomorrow.

hugs,
melanie

Thumbnail by MadamePapillon

In my yard the #1 plant for both butterflies and hummingbirds was plain ol' tall zinnia.
Once the Tithonia (Mexican sunflower) started blooming the butterflies really preferred that but still visited the Zinnia. I can't get my butterfly bush to grow, it isn't dying but it isn't growing - I think the spot it is in is too windy. Butterflies liked the lantana but only so-so and both liked the Russian Sage but hands down winner was Zinnia. Grew it from seed - very cheap!

Whiteside County, IL(Zone 5a)

I had two favorites in the yard. Old fashioned phlox and zinnias. I bought a butterfly bush later in the year but it was small so not as many visitors, probably because of that size. I've seen hummers at both of them.

Thumbnail by Mrs_Ed

oh wow, Mrs Ed that is stunning!! Gotta get me some phlox, does it bloom for very long?