Fire Ants and Dry Molasses

(Maggi) Big Sandy, TX(Zone 8a)

Has anyone here used dry molasses to control Fire Ants?

We have a number of raised beds and I need to seize control of the Fire Ant problem before the end of this month :~(

We have free-range chickens, Call ducks, Great Pyrenees dogs and assorted cats and I cannot use synthetic chemical controls in the raised beds anyway because I am growing our veg in them.

I found an inexpensive source for dry molasses, but even at the low price I want some testimonials before I spend $$ LOL

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

Interesting - a method I have no experience with but it seems to be recommended by a good many reliable sources. Also beneficial to the soil. Some favorable points in this article -

http://www.urbanharvest.org/advice/pestsdiseases/molasses.html

Yuska

Thank You!

I have, since my initial post, found Fire Ants in the smaller greenhouse and they seem to be congregated around the heaters and the electrical cords - LOL! Not good.

I will ask how they use it at the local nursery that sells the dry molasses, and then make a plan to KILL FIRE ANTS this weekend. I surely don't want to be planting my veg in the raised beds and battle the ants at the same time.

Now I need to come up with a dry application for the little GH, don't want to be electrocuted in the process.

Hahira, GA(Zone 8b)

maggie - did you find out anything from the local nursery about how they use the dry molasses? I have several fire ant mounds in plant pots in my greenhouse & am curious about what they did. Have you tried it yet, & what were your results? Samantha

Houston, TX(Zone 9b)