Fuzzy mold in compost

Bellevue, NE(Zone 4b)

I got myself an indoor trashcan w/ a flip up lid and pull out bucket to keep my compost stuff in (so I don't have to run outside in the snow all the time.) I forgot to empty it into my outside compost bin before I left on vacation. When I came back it was very stinky and had fuzzy white mold all over everything. I dumped it in the yard, but didn't add it to my compost. I am worried about that mold causing problems if I put the compost w/ edibles this year - should I be worried about that? I don't really do much w/ my compost - just dump things in the bin (it is round and can be rolled to mix stuff up, but I haven't done that since the fall) - I don't know how hot it is or if that matters with the mold. I am really a newbie at all this and would appreciate any advice anyone can give me. Also, can I put fireplace ashes in compost or would that be bad for the soil? Thanks!

Gastonia, NC(Zone 7b)

That fuzzy white mold may be exactly what you want to see! I cannot recall the name of it (I may look it up later on) but it signifies the correct decomposing process going on. If you let it continue the stinky will quit and the compost will accomplish that lovely scent of good fresh dirt. That white stuff is what does that, they told me. Is it stringy looking?

I think dumping it on the garden is a good thing to do -- the air will clean it up as it will eventually make what was probably anaerobic (without oxygen) decomposition into aerobic -- meaning the stink will go away.

I would not worry about it in the garden at all, if it was me.

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

I also say its OK. if you an put manure in a compost, surelyy some white mold is fine ^_^

Gastonia, NC(Zone 7b)

good point.

Indianapolis, IN(Zone 4b)