Who has started seeds for their gardens?

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

These are the dahlia seeds from last year. I'll be starting some of these Unwin dahlias soon but I'm wondering who has already begun, which seeds and why so soon.

Thumbnail by pirl
Clinton, CT(Zone 6b)

How were the Unwin Dahlias for cut flowers? I'm looking for something bright for a 40' border. Two to three feet high is best (its a ways to the road from where they will be most visible).

Started Corsican Mint this week. Germination took 4 days at 70-75 degrees. Surprised me as I read they can take weeks. Are those seeds ever tiny. Impossible not to crowd them.

Anyone grow Mentha requienii) ? Make creme de menthe or use it in cooking? This is my first year growing it.

Thumbnail by David_Paul

The Unwins are not for cutting. They're pretty for edges but that's it.

Your mint looks interesting and you got fast germination. Let me know how it works out for cooking. Green Eggs and Ham?

Hannibal, NY(Zone 6a)

I have a ton of mints, but not that one. I do have the mojito mint, speaking of drinks. I have some of the Jim Westerfield mints, and they are yummy. Like Cotton Candy, Julias Sweet Citrus, Pink Candypops, those kinds. But the creme de menthe mint sounds great. Plese let us know what you make with it, and how it turns out.

I havent' started any seeds yet, but I have the ones i got from the species iris group in the fridge, and they should be ready to go in a couple of weeks.

Lewisville, MN(Zone 4a)

Our tomatoes are started. These are the plants that will be for greenhouse tomato production. Also some peppers going in the greenhouse.
This pic is from a prior year.
Bernie

Thumbnail by CountryGardens

Now I know where tomato heaven is - Lewisville, MN!

Clinton, CT(Zone 6b)

polly....Hadn't heard about Westerfield’s mints. Only American source I see is Fragrant Fields. They get mixed reviews:

http://davesgarden.com/products/gwd/c/622/