Should these bush bean seedlings be transplanted?

Fort Mohave, AZ(Zone 10b)

I'm a newbie at planting seeds inside (and this is my first DG post). I was amazed at the growth of these bush beans in just a few days - reminded me of Jack and the Beanstalk! There are a few that are just coming up. Is it too early to start setting them outside to harden? The temp has been hanging around 50-57 the last few days here in Fort Mohave, AZ. I just constructed my first square foot garden bed and have a spot to plant them - need to put up a trellis yet.

Thumbnail by AZSANDRA
Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

Welcome to Dave's Garden and welcome to gardening. ;)

When bush beans are planted directly in the garden, they do not get leggy (tall) like that. The problem is the seedlings are looking for sunlight, and the light inside your house is not bright enough. Even a sunny windowsill is probably not bright enough.

Peas, Beans, Corn, Cucumbers, Melons, etc. are best started outside directly in the garden when the soil is warm enough (approximately 60 degrees and no overnight freezes).

Bush beans are named because they normally produce 18" tall self-supporting bushy plants and do not need a trellis.

If you were growing pole beans, then they would need a trellis to climb.

This message was edited Jan 30, 2009 11:45 AM