Probs with cuttings....

Winnetka, IL

I'm thinking it might be better to post this here than on the prop. section.

I *finally* got my A. p. 'Omurayama' to root! New growth, green and semi-green, taken between Sept. and Nov., stuck in perlite, kept in domed prop. tray. The cuttings get to the point of several leaves, by which time the stem starts getting black. Fungus? Too wet? Too hot? I'm having the same probs with my rose cuttings, so I'm assuming it's culture/environment, but I can't find this issue on DG and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks for reading.

Thumbnail by plantaholic186
Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

I'm no expert on cuttings but it looks like it could be Pseudomonas
http://www.carlmontnursery.com/page.asp?page_id=166

Here's a discussion about treatment and prevention.
http://king.wsu.edu/gardening/MGCD/Quiz/P.%20syringae%20Article%20and%20Quiz.pdf

Pepperell, MA(Zone 6a)

that is good info doss - still wondering what happened to a bloodgood last year - looks like it was either sun or over watering - i hope.

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Sorry about your Bloodgood wha. I hope that whatever you've replaced it with does well.

Pepperell, MA(Zone 6a)

no it is still there and hoping it fairs better this year. at least it did not have the disease that makes is black....

Winnetka, IL

doss, thanks for the link. I'm assuming Pseudomonas, which I guess for cuttings means sayonara. And, if it's airborne, I think it's time to trash the cuttings in the prop. tray (under dome), sterilize the bejeezus out of it, and start again. The mother plant hasn't shown any sign of Pseudomonas, and there are some boxwood cuttings that have been settling in for 4 months now and look perfectly fine. Also Actinidia that seems unscathed. .
Someday, somehow, I'm going to prop. JM from cuttings, darnit!

Pepperell, MA(Zone 6a)