Companion Planting for the Canna Lily Beds?

Crestview, FL

I have beds all round the house with about 80 cannas in them, I planted them a good 18 inches apart when I planted them so they could have some room. But, that makes for lots of weeding, now I want to plant something in there to fill in the spaces but what? What could I plant that would look good in between the cannas and yet not take over the bed and not do my canna lilies in? Any suggestions? Hostas perhaps or no? Other flowers perhaps and if so what kinds?
joy112854

Parkersburg, WV

I am no expert on Cannas so someone else might have a better opinion.I helped my sister in SC plant about 30 cannas in a 30 to 40 ft. circular bed in the spring of 2007. In the spring of 2008 the bed had to be enlarged as the cannas had spread and filled in between them selves and wer starting to grow outside of the bed. I know they were fertilized pretty well so that probably had alot to do with it, but i think you may want to see how much they fill in between each other. You may not need anything for the empty spots.

just my two cents.

Crestview, FL

Taj: My house is 2,064 square foot in size, add to that the deck which is 12 x 30 with a 20 ft ramp and that I have beds for cannas going from the back part of the house all the way round to the deck, around the deck and down the ramp on both sides and have 80 cannas planted, possibly should buy more cannas? I'm pulling weeds like crazy lately, I know that much.
joy112854

(Arlene) Lakeland, FL(Zone 9a)

Joy that sounds very pretty. I am also making a canna bed in front of the house and I was wondering the samething. What to plant to make the bed a little fuller and that it would take full sun?

I might get a few liriope plants, Coleus, Pentas, and possbily a few ornamental grasses. I have a ton of gladiouls that I am going to grow in that bed also. I can't wait to hear what other suggestions people have.