First container success

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

I'm new to DG, new to most gardening efforts, and just finding my way around. Since my first love is the idea of growing my own vegetables, I tend to think I'll be hanging around this forum some -- so HI! I hope to learn from you guys and also to contribute when and where I can -- eventually, when I learn a few things. Oh, and I'm in Texas and a non-native, so I'm still trying to figure out seasons here. (I did join the Texas gardeners and am enjoying it, too, btw).

For now, I just really want to share my excitement that last night, hubby and I ate our first homegrown cauliflower. Two small heads, and by far the sweetest cauliflower I have ever tasted. I wish the heads had been bigger. They were only fist-sized (a lady's fist!), but I'd read (here?) that when the head starts looking less compact and more "rice-like" then it's time to pick, regardless of the size.

I have two more growing and hope they get a bit bigger. The others are each in their own pots, although they are so far the same size.

Anyway, it's nice to be here, and thanks for letting me share.
LiseP

Thumbnail by LiseP
Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Looking good Lise. You were right, they were ready to pick. To get larger heads, use a larger container or plant just one in your container. They were a bit crowded.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

Thanks, Farmerdill. I will do that. LiseP

(Karen) Frankston, TX(Zone 8a)

Hi Lise! I'm from Texas too! Your cauliflower looks divine, good job!

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

Thanks, darkmoondreamer.

I confess, I'd never even seen cauliflower growing before, so it was a real kick to watch it.

I'm still getting used to seasons here. I grew up in Minnesota, and this is so much different. Not that I had a garden then, but my dad always did, so my internal gardening clock is not set for this region yet. But I'm learning.
LiseP

Triad(for a few more, NC(Zone 7a)