Happy New Year!

Lawrenceville, GA(Zone 7b)

May your gardens be productive and bountiful this year!

BB

Dacula, GA(Zone 7b)

Happy New Year to BB and all the Georgia Gardening forum gang!

Comer, GA(Zone 7b)

this is going to be a great new year,I got started expanding my garden today. It's growing from 12X15 to 25X50. anybody got any great ideas how to kill coastal bermuda I've been battling it for 3 years now and still cant get rid of it. And then there's this ugly stuff that grows in clumps and the stalks look like rope and it has taken over the fence line.

North of Atlanta, GA(Zone 8a)

Happy New Year!

Lula, GA(Zone 7b)

fremar, you are certainly ambitious! That sounds like a big project. I have to think of Bermuda as evil, sorry fI don't have any helpful hints except repeated Round-up.

Based on your location and the size, I'm assuming you are rural? Deer problems? We have finally been able to garden successfully with our new fenced-in 8' high garden of about 34 x 46'. We call it deer resistant. So far (2006) they haven't jumped over (although I know they could). While we were at it, we dug down 12" and buried hardware cloth plus 2' of it over the welded wire fencing to keep out rabbits, voles and other plant-eaters.

Our garden is half vegetables and half ornamental. What about yours?

Comer, GA(Zone 7b)

just veggies for that area, all my flowers beds are spread out over the rest of 2 acres, as for deer I did two things I wired a motion detector to an electrical outlet and a flood light fixture, when the motion sensor is activated it turns on a light and a radio under the eaves of my garden shed.
The other thing is to plant sunflower plants along the perimeter for some strange reason they haven't been in my garden since I tried that. I did have cukes growing on the fence year before last and the deer found it was a salad buffet ( they walked the length of the fence eating everything on the outside and on top)