Texas winter garden

Deep South Coastal, TX(Zone 10a)

This is the first time in several years that I've had a "real" garden. By that I mean one in the ground. I've been growing vegetables in pots for the last three years and still have some in pots for the convenience of it. Here is a photo of my garden. It is 20 x 42 ft long. It is fenced to keep out armadillos. Armadillos dig in the soil looking for worms and uproot everything. We have javalinas (looks like a little pig) and they dig too. A neighbor tilled the garden with a tractor tiller attachment, the soil is close to the water and is silt and loam. After he tilled, I laid out the rows 3 ft wide raised rows with a 1 ft path between them. I don't wear shoes in the garden, so no problem walking. I have only lost my balance once! I keep a heavy mulch on everything, and all additives are organic. I don't plan on tilling this area again. I did plant a row of tomatoes outside the fence because I couldn't bear to toss the plants. Something stepped on and broke three of them which I replaced. I garden organically and by the moon.
Our winters are mild, we rarely get frost. Most days are in the upper 70's to low 80's with nights in the 50's or 60's. Once in a while we have north wind and the nights drop into the low 40's. The wind is brutal when it's out of the north, sustained 30-35mph with gusts even higher. The wind blows the plants around and the stems make wide holes where they wiggle back and forth so I mulch to stabalize them. Gardening books were absolutely no help for the Rio Grande Valley and garden centers weren't much better. I was looking for seed potatoes and all said "we get them in in February" which is too late to plant and then they wonder why they don't sell! I buy my seeds from Johnnys now but used to buy them when they were in the stores and keep them in the refrigerator till time to plant. I bought organic potatoes from the food co-op and planted them.