Spacing questions

Lindsay, OK(Zone 7a)

OK - so I have a new yard and can lay out the garden right this time! Yea.. I hope.. Ok I have lots of melons, pumpkins, and squash I am wanting to grow next year can you tell me a few things -

1. Will these inbreed with each other or can I plant melons and pumpkins or squash near each other?

2. How far apart do I need to plant the melons and such so they will not inner breed with the ones they can (like two melons or such.. )

Any great tips on melons, pumpkins, watermelons, and squash would be great also - I have been growing them for several years but real hints and tips always help!

Thanks Mitch

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

Mitch, unless you are planning on saving seeds from your squash and melons you don't need to worry about crossing.

Congrats on your new yard/garden!

Shoe

Triad(for a few more, NC(Zone 7a)

Mitch, I planted lopes and melons near each other and ended up with waterlopes that could not be eaten. I would just spread them out as much as possible, maybe put them at the corners with other veggies in between, also space the sowing out by about 10 days each, that may help.

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

The different species do not cross. watermelons only cross with with Citrullus lanatus, melons only cross with Cucumis melo, squash only cross within species ( there are 4 species of squash (Cucurbita pepo, C. moschata, C. maxima, C. mixta) which only cross within species, ie a C. pepo ( example Acorn) will not cross with a C. moshata ( example Butternut) As Shoe stated even crosses within species do not show up until the second generation so unless you are saving seeds, there is no need to worry about cross pollination. Susan had some other problem. Cross polination only shows in the seeds the first year. If they did cross, you would have to put them about a half mile apart to prevent it or bag and hand pollinate which most seed savers do.

Thumbnail by Farmerdill
Lindsay, OK(Zone 7a)