CLOSED: Corylus americana

Langley, WA(Zone 8b)

I purchased a pound of nursery seed for Corylus americana. It was the smallest quantity available but is more than I need for my own planting purposes. Before I start stratifying them I just wanted to check to see if anyone is looking for this species. I would be interested in trading for other edible shrubs...or just about anything else ;)

~Amanda

Thumbnail by Spookycharles
Litchfield, ME(Zone 5a)

Amanda is that a hazelnut tree? I haven't seen one of those since I was a kid. I forgot they grew here. Ill look and see what I have for edible shrubs that you might like.
Robin

Langley, WA(Zone 8b)

Hello Robin,

Yes indeed. These are seeds for the North American native hazelnut, the American Hazelnut. From what I've read (I've grown the Beaked Hazelnut which is supposed to be similar, but this is my first time trying the American) it's much smaller in all respects than some of the other species out there.

These are supposed to top out in the 10' range, maybe up to 15' as a mature unpruned specimen, with a similar spread but supposedly can be pruned to stay in the six foot range for easy harvest. The nuts are also smaller than the European/Turkish filberts but are supposed to be very tasty and of course wildlife of all sorts is supposed to love them.

If that sounds like something you'd like to try I'd love to try some seeds for the Polanisia dodecandra if you currently have some available.

~Amanda

Litchfield, ME(Zone 5a)

That's Great I will send them out.
Thank You Amanda for the fond memories and the seed.
Robin

Langley, WA(Zone 8b)

Thank you, Robin. I've been wanting to try the Polanisia dodecandra and am so very glad to hear that the hazelnuts are heading for a loving home. I'll get them packed up and heading your way.

~Amanda

Eunice, MO(Zone 5b)