Newbie Here

Schererville, IN(Zone 5a)

Hi All!!

I am a newbie to dahlia's....I planted my first bunch of dahlia's last year and loved them!! They were just the mixed bags from Menards.....and then I bought 2 so called named ones.....I loved how they just kept on blooming, but did not like how winds would crack and snap the plant.......I did stake them......that helped lots, but I hear that you can get them that are more sturdy.....can you tell me where to order? Or names of ones that are better? Any help would be appreciated.......I dug what I had and they are in the basement....I will still plant these, but would like some more.....Thanks a lot!! :-)

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

Welcome LucyGoose. All standard size dahlias need staking. Tis their nature. There are thousands of beautys out there to choose from. On this forum the members have posted alot of pictures and often comment on the dahlias that worked well and maybe not so well for them so read the threads. When you find a dahlia you would like you can always ask about that one specifically or use the plant scout in the 'sticky' at the top of the forum to find a supplier. This is also a good site for sourcing http://www.dahlias.net/dbiglist.htm
If you find a dahlia on line and are unsure of the supplier DG Watchdog is a good check or ask here about them because it's likely someone will know about them.

West Caldwell, NJ(Zone 6b)

Extra potassium in the fertilizer might help I hear. But I use stretch tie on every branch, wrapping it twice on the pole and on the branch. This is the brand I use:

http://terradisiac.com/products.php?pid=554&openparent=149

If you've got a BIG bloom it can help sometimes to tie it high on the stem. Its always a consideration of leverage where its best to tie. Just imagine a big wind and where the branch would be best supported to keep it from snapping.

You can go through a lot but its cheap at least.

Marquette, MI(Zone 5a)