Meyer lemon

Kannapolis, NC

Anyone have this tree growing in a pot? What's the best source you've found? I'd like to give it a try.

Prattville, AL(Zone 8a)

I have it in a large pot. It gave me 22 lemons this year. I bought it at a local garden center where one of the owners is a professor emeritus from Auburn, specializing in citrus fruits. I have it in a large pot to move into a covered area in case of very low temperatures. It's just an experiment for me - I don't know how long it will last. I'm not an expert. Good luck - they're interesting to observe.

Kannapolis, NC

Peony: At the price of lemons, 22 lemons would make several nice pies and save a few bucks. And I understand they're so fragrant in blossom. My plan is to use a large pot on wheels so that it can be brought in for the winter. Thanks for your info.

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

My friend has one of these which is frankly not in a good indoor spot. Very low light. Despite that, and with Miracle Gro, it's survived and fruited for about five years so far. Seems to be a tough plant.

Kannapolis, NC

Sally: Thank you. I'm going to buy a Meyer lemon at Earth Fare or Fresh Market and try planting the seeds before investing the money in a plant. I know it will be a slow process, but I'd like to try this first.

Thanks again for your response.

Angie

Wait a sec-- Yes you can buy a Meyer and grow the seeds. I have about twenty babies to prove that. Very good germination. But at this point I believe that it will be probably four years minimum from seed for them to flower AND I haven't yet found a source to say they will grow true from seed. Many citrus do not. I've been poking around DG trying to find this out. I have a thread in Tropicals about mine.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)