Creeping Charlie

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)

Are Creeping Charlie and Ground Ivy the same thing? How do you get rid of it? I've tried Roundup and hand pulling and it keeps coming back. Thanks

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)

Here's a photo:

Thumbnail by stormyla
Elberfeld, IN(Zone 6a)

I have been fighting this for several years.....this past summer, a professional landscape friend of mine recommended a chemical "Lesco Three Way" - it was not cheap, but nothing ventured, nothing gained - I found a source nearby and got some.....it worked !!!! On a few really thick areas, it took a second application, but the weed died. Now, the thing to be cautious about is the fact that this chemical will kill anything, so be sure to protect anything that you do not want to kill....I often use a 2 liter bottle with the bottom cut out and stick the sprayer nozzle in the top - that way the spray is contained - or of course you can make any sort of device you need to do the job....the other thing is that it works best when the temp is under 80 F.....don't know the low range.
To find a source near you, just do a google search on Lesco Three Way and a lot of sites will come up..........good luck

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)

Thanks, jrwbirds. Did you plant anything in the spots that you sprayed afterward? How long after spraying did you wait?

Roundup did kill some of what I have, but more grew back.

I have a lot of it growing where voles have made tunnels through the grass. If I spray it, will all of the surrounding grass die, and then have to be replanted?

There is also a lot of it growing around the edges of my beds, which I have sprayed and pulled up many times.

Elberfeld, IN(Zone 6a)

I waited a couple of weeks......was not sure about that issue, so I put in some annuals (cheap)and they did fine..

On this weed, I think Roundup just burns the foliage, but does not kill the roots.