New to dahlias need advise

Poland, ME

I am new to dahlias and am looking for ideas on which types are most desireable. That is form, color, height, etc. Which are the newest ones people are looking for? What do you look for when buying tubers. Do you usually only get a single one? Any information will be helpful? Oh yes, where do YOU buy?
What about this one? I caught my eye!

Thumbnail by Mainiac
Seale, AL(Zone 8b)

LOL Maniac. I see you finally got bitten by the Dahlias bug too. if ya have the time to read. Don't worry, I sure some of the Dahlia folks will come by and giv eya a hand. I to new at it to be of any help.

Just wanted to welcome ya to the new plant addiction. : )

Lewisville, MN(Zone 4a)

I asked basically the same question a couple days ago. There were some answers.
http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/921194/

I am still stumped!

Bernie

Issaquah, WA(Zone 7a)

Bernie the good thing about being stumped on your acreage is that you can grow thousands and might very, well before you're through.

Here's how it went for me being totally new to dahlias years ago: Our dahlia association raises funds selling tubers in many local nurseries. I ran across a couple packaged tubers shopping for spring plants and thought a yellow and dk orange flower would go well with my existing perennials. They grew like mad, sprawled all over over my raised beds (no stakes!) I liked the many flowers plenty and the next year found a yellow/bronze one I still grow 15 yrs later to 'go with' the other two. I came to realize there were many dahlia sizes and shapes in virtually every color but blue and green available.

So I got a couple purples and lavenders, needed a white to 'go with' them; found a lavender and white, a real bonus for bouquets. Then I wanted more oranges, some round balls, some lacy laciniated varieties, some biggies, some wee petites. And that's why my dining room table and a huge slab of plywood in the garage are both covered with tubers at this moment.