Southwest GA gardening-Hibuscus problem

Bainbridge, GA

I'm fairly new to DG and have a problem I need help with. Hope you all can help. I think the squirrels ruined our hibuscus bushes. Last year we planted three beautiful hibuscus bushes. They had lots of nice buds on them besides some beautiful blooms. I kept noticing that buds would be missing, then leaves. We thought maybe the plants were diseased, but there wasn't any fallen leaves on the ground. Pretty soon our hibuscus were just stalks with a few buds. Then one day I saw a squirrel with a branch bent all the way to the ground and it looked like he was eating the end of the stalk. It can't be a deer problem because we live in town. Has anyone had this problem? Or knows what possibly could be the cause if not squirrels? Please don't tell me the plants would have come back out of it, because after sitting there "naked" for several weeks, my husband, pulled them all up and threw them away (unbeknownst to me!). I would love to have some hibuscus, but they are a little too expensive to feed to the squirrels.

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

Hmm, Gloria, I was going to say it must be deer and not squirrels until you mentioned the town residence. We have tons of squirrels, but deer are the ones that have damaged mine. Could it be slugs or snails? They can really do a number on hibiscus. I have a deciduous type and have to repeatedly bait in Spring, when new shoots start emerging. I know squirrels defoliate roses and their buds, so they probably enjoy hibiscus too. Hibiscus are pretty sturdy and they probably would have come back.
Laurel

lagrange, GA(Zone 7a)

I have several hibiscus, 10 or so, and I have ton of squirrels. I have never had that problem. To late in the season for japaneese beetles but that is what it sounds like.

North of Atlanta, GA(Zone 8a)

Overnight, the deer ate all the leaves on my hibiscus! Buds too if there are any!

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)