New to the forum - any interest in native herbs?

Willis, MI

Hi all,
I purused the list and saw the topic on poison ivy cures. I run an native herb farm and herb forum on the net and was cruising around to see if I could be part of other forums with the same interest. Does this list talk much about medicinal uses of native herbs? Or is it strictly about gardening/plant ID/ with natives in general. Thanks!

NE Medina Co., TX(Zone 8a)

Well, I know I'm interested in native herbs! There seem to be a lack of information on them!

Benton County, MO(Zone 5a)

I LOVE the subject of native plants and herbal/medicinal uses! I have been studying that on my own now for about 15 years. I have experimented with a few things, made tinctures, etc. :-)

I do have one book, Edible and Useful Plants of Texas and the Southwest, that has been a little useful. Did you study any books?

Thorne Bay, AK(Zone 6b)

YEP.I have the Peterson Field Guides "Western Medicinal Plants snd Herbs".I have used it quite a bit,as it pertains to the coastal rain forest,where I live.

I have a whole library of books on the subject. :-)

Willis, MI

A good plant ID book is essential, and like everyone has noted, there are many! I like the Stan Tekiela wildflower series, although he just written some for the Midwest states (I live in Michigan). His herbal information is good too. Also the book Herbs, by Leslie Bremness is another classic herbal plant ID book.

I am glad I found some interest here! Do you all treat your critters too with natural remedies?

Not too much because I'm not sure just what they can and can't have.

I do know that echinacea made into a tincture from just the stems, leaves and flowers is a very good remedy if taken at the first hint of a cold. Far better than store bought preparations. I'm sure that s true for most herbs though.

Saint Bonifacius, MN(Zone 4a)