Green Sand - Sandy Soil and Ericaceae

Holland, OH(Zone 5b)

Although I've been gardening for 30 years I'm still learning. I have very - I would say extremely - sandy soil, pH 6.8, which has been amended annually with compost, peat moss and chopped oak leaves. My gardening focus is on the Ericaceae family, conifers, with some Hydrangeas, Japanese Maples and grasses. I am thinking of using green sand as an amendment, both in established beds and in new bed preparations. Any advice?

Cincinnati, OH

Green sand is mostly iron potassium silicate. It slowly releases the metals into the soil.
I use it, also Epsom Salts. Do not use other fertilizers this time of year. Nitrogen produces new growth and the plant will not be hardened off for winter. Avoid aluminum completely (your plants hate it). It is best to avoid Ammonium also. The nitrogen in spring should come from other nitrates.

Holland, OH(Zone 5b)

I know about the negative effect of aluminum sulphate on the roots of rhodies as well as avoiding late fertilization ( nothing past July 1st around here) . I just havn't ever used greensand. Because my soil is so extremely sandy I'm always looking for things to help bind the soil, besides the usual compost, peat, chopped oak leaves and anything else I can work in. My favorite fertilizer for all acid lovers is Fertilome. I find it works better here than Holly tone.

Epsom salts is not necessary here as there is no magnesium deficiency. But manganese is in short supply. Even though manganese deficiency usually shows up in high pH or poorly drained soil I have it in pH 6.8 soil that actually drains a little too well. The symptoms mimic iron cholorosis. I added iron chelates to little avail thinking that was the problem, then an Extension soil test pointed to manganese! Go figure! I sure never expected that!

Anyway, back to green sand. Does it really noticeably help bind the soil?

Hurst, TX(Zone 7b)