cutting frenzy

Simpsonville, SC(Zone 7b)

I'm just learning about Dahlias... this is really my first year with them. Bad news, I didn't stake them very well. Good news, flowers in the grass provide a wonderful excuse to cut them and bring them in!

This time I may have gone a little overboard... what do you think ;-) Luckily I have neighbors that love flowers and don't grow many!

Thumbnail by klstuart

Here's my number one favorite, so far Mrs. Eileen!

Thumbnail by klstuart

And Mrs. Eileen with Kelvin Floodlight...

Thumbnail by klstuart

This one, I don't know how, but I've managed to lose it's identity. Anyone know what this might be? Its a pure, deep purple. The light shining on it makes it look magenta at the edges, but it really isn't.

Thumbnail by klstuart
Issaquah, WA(Zone 7a)

I think I hear Mr. Rogers singing "Won't You Be My Neighbor." You'll be the most popular person on the block if you share those beauties.

Mrs. Eileen is just perfect for October. Would look great inside a pumpkin.

If the purple unknown is fairly large, it could be Thomas Alva Edison- looks to be the same rich purple.

Nice growing, kl.

Funny thing about Mrs. Eileen, is that it's been what I called "Sunny" all summer, golden yellow with beautiful hints of orange. Now that it's gotten cooler, it's turned much more orange, with hints of yellow... seasonally appropriate as you said!

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

There is no overboard when it comes to dahlias klstuart IMHO.Very luvly.

Issaquah, WA(Zone 7a)

I think when I start digging, if it would EVER freeze here, I will have defined overboard for me. It's good to know one's limits and I have reached mine as it is. Sure was pretty though!

Since I've never done the digging...I may be in for a surprise! We'll see.