Iris identification

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

I am really an amateur when it comes to irises. I put in a bunch several years ago that was labeled (when I bought it) as iris versicolor. I know this is ridiculous, but I don't remember seeing them bloom, so I can't tell you what the blooms look like. But to my horror, this year the foliage grew to 40", and is sprawling all over the place. It looks awful. Iris versicolor is supposed to be 2'- 3'. This is way too tall. The foliage is 1" wide.

Any idea what it is? Could it be versicolor? Can I cut it back now?

Hannibal, NY(Zone 6a)

40 inches would be tall for a versicolor. They are usually up to about 3' max. But I suppose under really wet and fertile conditions it could be that tall. Some of the versicolors have leaves up to about an inch wide, and the species can be sprawling, but usually the leaves are graceful and arching. Often the leaves are tinted purple at the base. It could also be a versicolor cross.

Maybe you could post a picture when it blooms next year.

And yes, you can cut them back now, to about 3 inches.

Here's a pic that shows the leaves on one of my versicolors.

This message was edited Oct 6, 2008 6:11 PM

Thumbnail by pollyk
Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Ok, here's a photo of my ugly sprawling plant. As I said above, the foliage is 40".

Again, does anyone have any guesses as to what kind of animal it might be?

This message was edited Oct 14, 2008 9:45 AM

Thumbnail by happy_macomb
Kingston, NY(Zone 5b)

Species tend to have that 'species look' - some better than others. My picture is is of a Species-X (cross) - is extremly robust and I use it to hold a bank of dirt in place. This one has a attractive bloom - and if it has some shade, the foliage is very impressive as dark green with a red-purple base.