Moving established plants

Brighton, MO(Zone 6a)

"Established" might be a bit of a stretch, but I am concerned. Let me explain. In my evolving native shrubbery bed in the backyard I have been planting for 3 or 4 years, mostly by whim, without a solid vision or plan. What vision I did have assumed a somewhat uniform growth rate among the plantings. Near the center of the bed I have two beautyberries (Callicarpa americana) that have become the focal point. They are magnificent and seem to be as content as they could possibly be in their environment. They have grown to a spread of around 4-5 feet each and a height of 2+. Between them, and far too close to one is my buckeye (Aesculus glabra). It was planted the same time - I think 3 springs ago - but it's slow growth rate and spindly fall appearance doesn't harmonize with the beautyberry. It is twin trunked, with each trunk under an inch in diameter. Behind the same beautyberry that the buckeye is crowding is a shrubby St. John's wort (Hypericum prolificum). The SSJW was also planted at the same time and was quite spectacular this year, with much more vigorous growth than previous seasons and a beautiful blossoming. It's seed pods make a much more pleasant fall show than the naked buckeye. The main trunk is still under an inch in diameter, but it has a spread of probably 2-3 feet.

My first goal is to not kill anything. What I would like to do, within that first goal, is move the buckeye to someplace less prominent in the bed, where it can slowly develop into its glory. Then move the SSJW centered between the two beautyberries. Which raises the following questions for the DG brain trust:

1) Should I give up the plan to move the buckeye and SSJW because they've been in the same spot for almost 4 years?

2) If the collective wisdom is that they should survive a move, when is the best time of year to move them? My instinct is to do it late fall when they are fully dormant.