Tall bearded Iris question

Libby, MT(Zone 4b)

I'm just discovering the beauty of iris's. I seemed to be drawn to the iris's with the biggest bloom. Only the Tall Bearded.

Do any of you know of iris with big blooms? Only on the Tall Bearded.

Also I'm preparing for ordering next spring and would like a tall iris for the back of a boarder. The tallest blue. It could be any shade of blue.

Thanks DM

Salem, IL(Zone 5b)

If you wait until next season, there are dozens of people on this forum who
could donate some for postage. I have light and dark blues to dig next July.

(Judi)Portland, OR

I am also new to irises - do you cut off all the leaves after the blooms are finished? I bought a home with lots of irises in the garden and just love them.

South Hamilton, MA

Don't cut the leaves unless they are showing browning or other problems. They will help make food for the next yr.

Salem, IL(Zone 5b)

This message was edited Aug 31, 2008 12:57 PM

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

A few that I know of that are usually suggested as being known for big flowers are:

Banana Frappe
Lacy Snowflake
Supreme Sultan
Hello Darkness

I know I've seen a couple of site that actually have the big ones listed in a separate section--just have to go look and see which sites they were:lol: Apparently I've been looking at quite a few;)

Beatrice, NE(Zone 5b)

Over Alaska is probably the largest flowered iris I grow. Too large maybe, as the wind sometimes plays havoc with it.

Thumbnail by KSBaptisia
Libby, MT(Zone 4b)

Over Alaska is so beautiful! How tall does yours tend to get?

Supreme Sultan is an eye catcher for me.

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

Still browsing around...

Colossal is said to have a 7 inch flower--plant is listed as 32" tall--blue.

Found a few blue to blacks with heights listed at Bluebird Haven (just randomly picked a seller)

After Dark 44"
Black Hills 42"
Blenheim Royal 38"
Blue Gown 38"
Blue Luster 38"
Blue Sapphire 40"
Cahokia 42"
Diplomat 40"

Beatrice, NE(Zone 5b)