Jap. Iris from trade - plant right away

North Richland Hills, TX(Zone 8a)

I just received a couple of Japanese Iris (NOID) in a trade and am curious if I need to get them in the ground ASAP. There aren't any rhizomes, just roots that were carefully wrapped in moist paper towel, plastic baggie & newspaper (still moist when I got them). The bed where I plan to put these isn't quite ready yet, so I'm wondering if it would be OK to put them in a pot (12" or other size) until the bed is ready (hopefully in a couple weeks), then transplant. This is my first time to grow irises & one of my first plant trades ever. I did receive a couple of TB Iris rhizomes from another DGer recently, but these were dried rhizomes & I was told it would be ok to keep them in a cool, dry, dark place until the bed was ready. Just doesn't seem like that would be the case with these japanese roots/fans. Also - should I sterilize them at all before planting. If so, how?

Here's a pic of them.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Thumbnail by jenepat
Cocoa Beach, FL(Zone 10a)

Keep them well watered and you can put them in a pot until you are ready to put in the permanent bed. Ensata Gardens have a very good culture sheet that you can download from their site.

http://www.ensata.com/HTML/GeneralPages/culture.htm

If you want to drool a bit, try this one

http://www.ensata.com/HTML/PlantPages/japanese_ac.htm

Thanks Mittsy! :)

Hannibal, NY(Zone 6a)

I can't add much to Ensata info, they are the Japanese Iris experts.

If you are only going to wait two weeks before planting, you can keep them right in water. A bucket of water, under a tree will do. Cover them about 1/3 of the way up with water, and change every couple of days, otherwise it will get incredibly stinky.

If you do pot them, I would recommend putting the pot into a pail of water to keep it wet at all times.