Simple Dynamics

Deep Run, NC(Zone 7b)

I've been raising hobby orchids for probably 30 years and have had a home greenhouse for the past six years. I have several questions that I would like to ask other hobbies t concerning practical ways of doing things.

First, what type of marker do you find works best for labeling specimens. I normally use a pencil since this remains readable but if you have found something darker that works equally well, I'd love to know about it.

Second, I have ended up with a lot of small plants through Ebay purchases. What have you found as good ways of protecting and nurturing small plants?

Third, In your home greenhouses, what types of home rigged watering systems have you come up with that actually do a good job?

Thanks, bob

Thumbnail by orchidman1
Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

Hi Bob, I think you asked some great questions and hope that others will respond. I would love to hear what works for the "regulars" who check in here. We've been growing orchids for about the same amount of time, yet there are so many basics that can be learned from fellow enthusiasts. I'll give you my best shot...

I use Sharpies (extra fine point). Someone gifted me with a miniblind that, cut up, will provide a lifetime of tags. I used to be fancy and still have all kinds of tags from pro suppliers, but am winnowing down.

I keep smaller plants either indoors, in my orchid room, (photo below) or under our steep overhangs. Although they may flower earlier while young with more direct exposure, I'd rather not risk some of the other problems. So, I keep them in a controlled environment until I think they can handle the great outdoors.