Black EE's sending out runners?

Independence, LA(Zone 8b)

This may be something common but I have never seen it before. I have some large black ee's that are sending out runners above ground and little babies are coming up at the end of the runners. Is this common? I have a lot of ee's but the pups always come up from under ground. How would I go about taking them off to propagate?

ok, it is common LOL. I sure do wish we could delete our own 'stupid question' posts. Anyway here it is with the very obvious name http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/74980/

Sinking spring, PA(Zone 5b)

That's OK because I recently experienced this, too. I am not very experienced with colocasia, but purchased several on the tropical co-op this year and have several from a nursery that I got last year. Out of about 10 varieties, only one is doing exactly what you are describing, so I'm glad you posted.

Any idea on the name of yours sending out runners? I ordered some from the topical co-op too. So far I'm in love with cranberry and would be really excited if I got pups this year.

Keaau, HI

The traditional name for this taro is Colocasia esculentum var. antiquorum 'Black Dasheen'.
Some enterprising sales people more recently have tagged it as "Black Magic Taro".

Sinking spring, PA(Zone 5b)

I dug out my paperwork from the co-op. I believe the one sending out the runners is Colocasia 'black ruffles.' I only got to colocasia- black ruffles and cranberrry. My cranberry is more like dark purple, however, if I have them identified correctly.

Maybe I should stick this little guy out at the edge of the pond!

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

LOL, see your not alone! I was pretty surprised when I saw mine sending them out this year. I've never seen it before..

Keaau, HI

It is common for Asian Taro (Colocasia esculentum var. antiquorum) to send out runners. South Pacific and Hawaiian Taro (Colocasia esculentum var. esculentum)