Where to Plant

northeast, IL(Zone 5a)

I purchased a 'Fireworks' Clematis at Lowe's in their markdown area. It is in a 3 gallon pot, a little ratty looking, but not too bad. (Besides it was only $3). The tag says morning sun only. I was thinking of planting it in a big wooden barrel in front of my house. Would this be OK for this variety of Clematis? I am in zone 5, would it get too cold in the winter in the barrel? The barrel is between two garage doors that are about 4' apart, and I think a Clematis would add a lot of color to the area. I usually only put in annuals there, and I think the height would help in the curb appeal of my house. I can run a trellis from the barrel up to the roof overhang. If it would do better in the ground, I have an area on the east side of my house that would be OK, though the soil there is a bit on the sandy side.

Any advise would be appreciated.
Deb

Parkersburg, WV

Hello momcat, I am no expert on clematis as this year is my first to grow them. I really rely on niobe and jeanne for advice but I also look at this web page for some info.
http://www.clematis.com/html-docs/HowtoGuide.html

maybe jeanne or niobe will pop in with some advice also. hope this helps.

taj12

northeast, IL(Zone 5a)

Thank you for the link. There is lots of information there.

Deb

Tulsa, OK(Zone 6b)

Deb, I have Fireworks that was growing in a spot where a tree shaded it from the sun from about 1PM on and it blooms and looks great. However, the ice storm damaged the tree and I had it taken out a few days ago and now it's in pretty much full sun, but won't know till next year how it handles it. Didn't help much, huh? LOL

Debbie

northeast, IL(Zone 5a)

Any information helps. So it will do good with afternoon shade, that's helpful. My main concern, now, is if it could survive the winter, if it's planted in a big wooden barrel.

Thanks
Deb

Delaware, OH