Another Canna seed question please

(Cissy) San Jose, CA(Zone 9b)

I have several Canna plants. I am new to them. Someone on here kindly sent a picture of what the seed pods look like and where to find them on my Canna. Well, I found them. They are still green. However, today, a seed fell into the container from the plant (its planted in a large pot). The seed that fell is 1/2 black - 1/2 green. Is it too soon to scar it for planting or do I hold onto it until it all black? It's rather soft and small. The seed pods still on the plant are much bigger - 4 times!

Thanks!

Tuscaloosa, AL(Zone 7b)

The seeds should be completely black or dark brown before you try to plant them. When the whole seed pod looks completely dried, then it's time to pick it and take the seeds out.

Karen

Thanks Karen. I thought I just had to nick the outer pod until I see white then soak for about 72 hours......then plant the whole pod. Did I get that wrong? Also, since this pod fell off, then it can't be planted even if it does turn completely blackk?

Thanks!
Cis

Tuscaloosa, AL(Zone 7b)

If it does turn completely dark, it might then be good. But if you have lots of seeds coming on the plants, I probably wouldn't bother with just that one.

You don't nick the pod itself. You need to open up the papery sort of covering (the pod) over the seeds. Inside will be the seeds. Do this over a bowl as they are round and have a tendency to "jump". After you nick them until just the white shows a tiny bit, I think soaking for 24 hours is enough.

Good luck,

Karen

That clarifies it, Karen. Dang! Nicking the pod only would have been easier ! LOL. Boy, I'm glad I asked. Now I know to nick the SEED within the pod. I thank you very much, Karen!

cissy

Tuscaloosa, AL(Zone 7b)