1st time bale gardeners - Who's trying it this year?, Part 2

So.App.Mtns., United States(Zone 5b)

Continues...

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

Whew, we needed that. My bales are doing okay, nothing great to report since last time. The strawberries are starting to slow down. I thought I had planted the kind that keep producing. Maybe I need to feed them again. Ya think? I am still new at this and am kind of feeling my way through it. The herbs and sugar snap peas are doing great but thats about it. I think next time I will go with more herbs and maybe flowers. That seems to me my nick.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

Wow, I guess that everyone is busy with their gardens. My bales are just about done with the sugar peas, at least I am. Trying to decide what to put in them now. I think that I will add soil to the top once I get them planted again.

Solsberry, IN(Zone 6a)

Hi- I also tried Strawbale Gardening this year.I made this album for all the people who didn't believe me when I told them I planted tomatoes and cucumber IN straw bales!
http://www.PictureTrail.com/gid20146952

Biggs, KY(Zone 6a)

Janie
Your bales must have been very loose to have broken down so fast? You had more breakdown in 2 months than I had in over a year. Mine were also arranged with the strings off the ground. I wonder if that had anything to do with it. I also see you had fertilizer on yours in the first pics. All I used was a thick smear of rabbit manure a few times on top of the bales then watered through it a few times a week.

This year I broke the bales down from last year and covered them with a thick layer of horse manure and sawdust. I planted in that and I have a beautiful stand of tomatoes. My husband also tucked in a couple of muskmelons and they are doing well.

Here is a question. My neighbor gave me some garlic sets this morning and said to plant them now and I'd have garlic in the spring. How deep of a bed do I need to plant them in?

Solsberry, IN(Zone 6a)