Help with ID's

Victoria BC, Canada

I've done a pretty good job of ID'ing my flowers, but I've still a few to go. I never know what I've got until it blooms because I'm new to gardening and this is my first summer in this home. Can someone tell me what this is. I know it's fairly common, but I just can't find its name anywhere. Thanks. I have one or two more that I'll post as soon as the blossoms come.

Thumbnail by maggie234
Mount Angel, OR(Zone 8a)

Maggie, I think this is monk's hood or aconitum. The foliage sure makes me think so too.

Victoria BC, Canada

It certainly looks that way. I have other monkshood, but it's finished now and going to seed. It is way taller than this plant, and its foliage is way different too. Can they both be monkshood? They're both purple but very different looking. What do you think?

Browns Mills, NJ(Zone 6b)

is this it? http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/77081/ . I thought it looked like larkspur and you guys said monkshood.... I'm an experienced guesser :-) lol! Andrea

Victoria BC, Canada

Ah yes, Larkspur. That sounds and looks exactly right. Thank you!

Mount Angel, OR(Zone 8a)

If the individual flowers on the stalk open up to be flatter, then I would agree with larkspur.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I think it's the Aconitum. Go take a look at the back side of your flowers--if there's a "spur" sticking out of the back then it could be larkspur but if there's not then it's not. Here's a picture that clearly shows the spur I'm talking about http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/showimage/189895/

Victoria BC, Canada

It's definitely not a larkspur, as there's no spur on the back, but I have another flower that does have a spur on the back of the blossoms. So maybe it's going to end up being a larkspur. It's all a lot of fun this year, as there are so many flowers, and I know so few of them.

Calgary, AB(Zone 3b)