Cannas from Co-op not coming up

Raleigh, NC

I went a wee bit nuts and ordered a lot of cannas on the canna co-op for a complete redesign of my poolside border. Canna newbie here. Planted in pots as recommended. Many came up.

But four varieties haven't come up at all. should I be doing something?

Raleigh, NC

I should have added, a few of the cannas had kind of black icky looking wilted roots on them. I don't know that I wrote down which varieties were like that or if they all were. But most have sprouted and are over a foot tall.

Should I leave these alone longer? water them more? yank them out for an exam?

Tuscaloosa, AL(Zone 7b)

My curiosity would be killing me. I'd have to take a look, which personally I don't think would hurt them if they are otherwise okay.

I planted some Cleopatras last year which never came up, while the others in the pot did. I thought they had died and that was that. I would have dug them up and looked, but the others in the same pot were doing fine, so I didn't want to disturb those. To my surprise the Cleopatras came up this year and are blooming. These are planted in a huge tree-size nursery pot.

Karen

Raleigh, NC

well - DARN

so there's a chance, heh?

GREAT!

now -do I look, or NOT?.........

to be continued

Tuscaloosa, AL(Zone 7b)

Until the point where you find a rotted tuber/rhizome, there is indeed a chance. Could have knocked me over with a feather when I saw that Cleopatra bloom last week.

Karen