help! Something eating blossoms

Spokane, WA

Hi everyone,
I'm new to growing clematis and planted a beautiful Andromeda. A number of blossoms have opened, but a few of them are being eaten by a bug even before they are open. They end up looking like lace and not in a pretty sense. Does anyone know what this could be and how I might treat it? I try to be organic, but do succumb periodically to some chemicals.

(Zone 4a)

Earwigs?

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

I agree with Dawn. It's earwigs.

Ellicott City, MD(Zone 7a)

Yes, "Andromeda" gets eaten by earwigs all the time! It seems to be better in early Fall. Also, I noticed that "Henryii", another white colored Clematis seems to be a favorite of earwigs........gggrrrr!!!

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Shirley is 100% right. This was the first spring the earwigs didn't attack Henryii. They also feast on our Hagley Hybrid and Nelly Moser.

Delaware, OH

i don't think i have earwigs in the garden, but my husband saw one in the house recently.
for those of you with experience with these on clematis, what is the solution. ( want to be ready in case i get some)

Ellicott City, MD(Zone 7a)

I think earwigs seem to favor light colored Clematis. I also think that the growing area that I live in (very hot & humid during the Summer months) also contributes to earwigs feasting on the blooms. As I mentioned above, when the weather gets cooler and less humid during the Fall, the earwigs don't ruin the flowers as much. Florida Sieboldii is being nibbled on too! Gggrrr!

Check out these articles on earwigs and various methods of control:

http://www.entomology.wisc.edu/diaglab/hilites/a3640.pdf

http://www.gardensalive.com/product.asp?pn=2967&ss=earwigs (Organic) I haven't tried "Escar-Go Supreme" for earwigs, but it's defintiely worth a try!

http://horticultureguy.com/2005/04/09/chewed-clematis-shoots/ (using Neem Oil)

This message was edited Jun 30, 2008 1:27 PM

Spokane, WA