Starting A Fall Crop for the GH

Mountain Home, AR

This is my first time with a GH. I want to try some salad greens and tomatoes for the fall. When do I start the seeds to get a fall crop, say Oct, Nov harvest? Its hot here in July and August and probably Sept too. Suggestions needed and appreciated. Nanadee

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Tomatoes like sun and heat, so I'd look at the type you have and figure the days to germination and days to fruit and work backwards from the time you want to harvest them. Then just move them into the greenhouse in the fall when your weather starts to cool off. The salad greens I think mostly tend to be cool season plants so you'll have to wait until the weather starts to get cooler before you start them, and the GH probably won't be particularly helpful, unless you have a really excellent cooling system it'll probably get too hot in there on sunny days, the tomatoes may enjoy it but the lettuce won't.

Mountain Home, AR

Thanks ECrane. I should have figured that one out but I haven't developed GH confidence, it's all new to me. It helps to have someone with some experience confirm your hunches.

Fulton, MO

Winter GH tomatoes should be started in August around here. For fall harvest, I'd think about starting now. Growth will slow tremendously once it gets cool.

Buffalo, NY(Zone 6a)

Do tomatoes stop flowering and fruiting?

I planted some in the greenhouse for the first time this spring, and am just starting to get some ripe cherries. I have a Cherry, a Roma and a Big Boy, but I thought they would just keep right on vining and working through the winter into next spring.

I hear peppers are supposed to be shrubs that can be perennial. Wonder about those as year round greenhouse plants, as well.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)