my only hydrangea

(dana)Owensboro, KY(Zone 6a)

hi this is my first time on this forum , im usually on the rose forum . i really love hydrangeas though . this is my pride and joy this year . we lived here for 3 yrs and i have only ever seen 2 blooms on this . so i removed alot of dead wood , about half the sticks. and fed it and have been giving it coffe grounds , now its full of blooms ! my next venture is gonna be turning it blue . its very old . and when its naked it looks like 3 plants , i mean there is a division when you look down at the ground . do they divide like that when they have been there for a long time ?

Thumbnail by iris28

another shot

Thumbnail by iris28

here is the front , next to a gigantic azalea i wont let my dh prune it :)

Thumbnail by iris28
Hurst, TX(Zone 7b)

Mopheads develop a crown at the base, with the passage of time. Some people then divide the crown to produce two or three distinct plants. Perhaps that is what you are seeing. For more information on hydrangeas, visit this link when you have time:

www.hydrangeashydrangeas.com

Note: turning blooms from pink blue requires taking steps that help the plant increase its aluminum intake. To accomplish that, most people add an ammendment called aluminum sulphate. However, you may want to try acidifying the soil with garden sulphur & using fertilizers with low phosphates instead because aluminum -in enough quantity- will become toxic and will kill the azalea growing besides the hydrangea. An example of one such fertilizer that you could use is an organic one called cottonseed meal.