Native grass to replace Dwarf Fountain Grass 'Hameln'

Bensenville, IL(Zone 5a)

Can anyone suggest native to replace Dwarf Fountain Grass 'Hameln'. The site is part shade though and I don't want a "spreader" - I like my plants "well behaved". I am looking for the fountain shape of Hameln but I am not picky about the blooms. I have Miscanthus Ferner Osten and Sunset Coneflower planted as companions. I've looked at Sporobolus heterolepsis but it states full sun. I'm not experienced at all with natives so I don't know if you can push that limit. Thanks for any help you can give.

Boy that Hameln sure is pretty. I looked through my catalogs and didn't find anything but here is a search from Wildflower.org
http://www.wildflower.org/plants/combo.php?fromsearch=true&distribution=IL&habit=habit_grass&duration=&light_partshade=1&light_shade=1
Hope you find something you like!

Angele

Annapolis, MD

How about Muhlenbergia capillaris or one of the many Panicum virgatum cultivars (my favorites)?

Teresa

Brighton, MO(Zone 6a)

I will concur with soivos on Panicum virgatum (Switchgrass), however, there is a large variation in native cultivars. I bought 3 to put in a grouping -- all purchased at the same time from the same source. One will make you weep it is so beautiful, and the other two are yawners. The yawners are going to get transplanted this fall and the beauty queen is going to get divided. The beauty queen is nearly blue in leaf and the seed heads surround the foliage like a haze. At four years of age, it gets almost five foot tall, with the last foot of that being seed stalks and heads.