Ladybug Question

Mandeville, LA(Zone 8b)

I am a relative newbie at this gardening thing. I ordered some ladybugs because I had aphids on my Mandevillas and something on my Bougainvilleas. I put my ladybugs on the plants at night like the instructions said. The first time I found a bunch of them looking dead in the dirt of the pots, I thought I got a "bad" shipment. I have a new ladybug shipment now and the same thing is happening. I went out to water my plants just now and there in the bottom of some of the pots were scores of ladybugs. I also kept them in the refrigerator. They were only 1 day old this last time.

I live on a bayou in south Louisiana, and there are certainly plenty of other sources of food for them if they don't get it from my plants. They could fly away to other plants around here, couldn't they? I have used no chemicals or pesticides. Am I doing something else wrong? I hate to kill a bunch of ladybugs by doing something wrong.

Any help would be appreciated. (I do know they can "play dead," but it doesn't look like that's what they are doing).

Kaye C.

Barnesville, GA(Zone 7b)

kayec, did you tell your source about this and did they have any advice? Did you take them immediately from the fridge to the outdoors? If so, the severe temp change maybe affected them........just guessing here. I experimented one time (having read how to do this) at the end of the summer I took a handful of ladybugs, wet a paper towel thoroughly, then placed them with the paper towel into a clear plastic container in the fridge. Every week I would take the container out and allow them to come to room temperature, then back into the fridge. Come spring, most of them were still alive and out they went in the garden. I wish you luck with the "helpers" and they are indeed. Keep us posted.

Mandeville, LA(Zone 8b)