? on using cedar mulch in the veggie garden

Judsonia, AR(Zone 7b)

I hav e tons of cedar mulch untreated, we're planing wood to go on the outside of a house,andit's all cedar, and untreated, can Iput this shavings on my veggie plants ? what about the strawberries and other plants? anybody know?

kathy

I have so much of it, we're running out of room to store the bags and we'renot even half finished yet. I have to find a use for this.

(Audrey) Dyersburg, TN(Zone 7a)

Cedar has a natural resin in it, if I'm not mistaken. I'm NO expert, but I would be hesitant putting it on any plant. It might nit hurt a thing, it DOES keep mothes away, you know!!
Audrey

Lodi, CA(Zone 9b)

Hummm... I bought some cedar shavings for my compost pile! It was hamster bedding. I know it sounds crazy, but I had too much green and needed something to smell good.. I only used a tiny bit and sprinkled the rest in the grass in the yard so it would repel fleas, etc. AND be in the grass when it's cut for the compost pile. I also sprinkled some in my flower beds...

Everything is fine.. and I've used the compost in the garden.. so ?? Who knows? My garden is "hecka" healthy. LOL

Putting it in the compost pile results in a change because of the heat it goes through. By the time it's rotted, the resin should be gone, I would think. I didn't think of using it in compost! I do know if you use pine on certain plants it'll kill them because of the "tar" from the pine.

Moss Point, MS(Zone 8b)

I would try it, especially in the paths. I have natural cedar sofit and fascia on my house and the carpenter bees, wasp and dirt daubers seem to love it. Termites ate a large cedar trellis. I just don't see how the resin could be that strong and it seems it would make a good soil amendment especially if left to weather all season before it was tilled in.

Lachine, MI

Kathy,