Should I prune these endless summers?

Louisville, KY

Hi, I am new to this and planted two endless summers last year. They are doing fabulous. They have so many blooms that they are falling over. All of the branches have fallen over and left a big hole in the center. There is one new shoot that is bigger than everything else filling in the hole. Should I prune it off? Should I prune any of the blooms off? I hate to cut anything off because they are so pretty but I would like to do what is best in the long run. I will post a couple of pictures. Thanks for any guidance/advice - Chris

Thumbnail by HD28Cat
Hurst, TX(Zone 7b)

The stem with no flowers is looking odd because, well, it has no blooms of course. The others are weighed down by the blooms and also because they are young stems that cannot support the weight, yet. The stems will harden if you do not prune them. But they will do better with the passage of time. For aesthethic reasons, you can prune the stem with no flowers but just check out first if the others would be as long and as tall were it not for the weight of the blooms. It is likely that all the stems may turn out to be of similar size and in that case, it becomes a personal question whether you trim it or not.

Regarding the question about pruning the blooms, the blooms can be deadheaded at any time. I prefer to do that when the blooms brown out. At that point, I add them back as mulch. Deadheading is not the same as pruning though. For more information on pruning, see this link: http://www.hydrangeashydrangeas.com/pruning.html

For information on deaheading, go to the paragraph titled "Removing old blooms" in the same link. It is located at the bottom of the section titled "Method I".

Bensenville, IL(Zone 5a)