Angels or Devils

Sinking spring, PA(Zone 5b)

Hello- new to this forum. This is my first year at DG, and my first year growing Datura. LOL- aren't these guys supposed to be upright? My flowers are hanging like Brugs!

Thumbnail by fauna4flora

I really had to baby these seeds to get a good plant.....

Thumbnail by fauna4flora

I think this is black currant swirl....these were easy to grow.

Thumbnail by fauna4flora

Stramonium is a tease. Not very prolific and the flowers don't last long- but the scent is tantalizing!

Thumbnail by fauna4flora
Nassau County, NY(Zone 7a)

Hi fauna, nice pictures you have there! This is also my first year trying to grow Daturas without any luck. Seed wise, that is, the plants I ordered by mail are doing fine! Seed wise, not coming up, to make matters worse, I sent some to one of my friends, and hers are already germinating. You say that the Black Currant was easy, well, that is the trouble maker I have! Can't get it! Any pointers to a newbie?? Clemen

Well, I soaked all of mine with Superthrive. Of course, my climate makes it easy, but I also do bury them lightly as opposed to keeping them on top of the soil. I have several other species that I have germinated as well that aren't flowering yet......keep trying! Lots of water and warm temps. Good luck!

Thanks Fauna, what is superthrive? Clemen

It's this hoaky garden supplement that claims to have all these amazing vitamins and benefits for plants. They are exempt from requiring an MSDS, so no one knows for sure what's in it but I am betting it's alfalfa meal extract. Some people are nuts about it and use it for a lot of things, and you can find it at pretty much any garden center. I just use it for accelerating the germination process.

We'll go get it after work. Sounds like a magic product! Clemen

High Desert, CA(Zone 8a)